Asparagus and Mushroom Pizza


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Last week my sister made asparagus pizza two nights in a row. At first I thought the idea of asparagus pizza was a little weird (even though I love asparagus). After hearing her rave about it (two nights in a row), I decided to make some for everyone for dinner tonight.

ingredients.

  • 8 oz. wheat pizza dough
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • olive oil
  • 10 oz. crimini mushrooms, sliced
  • 8 oz. asparagus spears
  • 1 shallot chopped finely
  • 8 oz. fresh mozzarella cheese, sliced thin
  • 3 oz. fontina cheese, shredded
  • parmesan cheese

directions.

  1. Remove pizza dough from the refrigerator and let sit at room temperature for 20 minutes. Meanwhile, preheat the oven to 425 degrees and spray a 16-inch round pizza pan with cooking spray.
  2. Using flour (if necessary), begin to stretch the dough out into as large of a circle as possible. Place on the pizza sheet and work the dough at the edges using the heel of your hand to press and stretch toward the edge of the sheet to make a really thin crust. This will take a few minutes. Try to make the crust of the pizza as even as possible.
  3. Once the crust is stretched all the way to the edge of the pan, sprinkle with olive oil and salt and pepper. Layer with cheeses, mushrooms, shallot and asparagus. Top with additional salt and pepper and grate parmesan cheese on top.
  4. Place in the oven and bake the pizza for 25 to 30 minutes or until edges of the pizza are beginning to brown and turn crisp.Remove from the oven and let sit for five minutes before slicing. Top with additional freshly shaved parmesan cheese, if desired. Enjoy!

Instead of weighing this crust down with cheese (at my sister’s ‘suggestion’), I loaded it with asparagus and fresh mushrooms. Fresh mushrooms were a mistake!

If you decide to make this pizza, I would recommend sauteing the mushrooms before placing them on the pizza. I’m almost positive that water seeped from the mushrooms while the pizza was cooking which caused the crust to be soft and flimsy.

My sister and dad loved this pizza. I probably wouldn’t make it again. The taste of mushrooms was by far the most overwhelming taste in this pizza – I think because the mushroom water seeped into the crust. Also I would have preferred having smaller pieces of asparagus rather than the entire spear. When I bit into my slice I took an entire asparagus spear off with my first bite! I did love the really thin crust of this pizza.

The really great dough is courtesy of Trader Joe’s. If you’d like a homemade pizza dough, check out my recipe for Light Whole Wheat Bread (the dough works great as a pizza crust).

Recipe rating: 

Leave a Reply

